

## For Immediate Release

February 6, 2024 Contact: Lindsey Cousins Lindseyrc99@gmail.com

## Gina Sunseri, ABC News Producer, to receive the 2024 RNASA Space Communicator Award



Houston, Texas (February 6, 2024). The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation has selected Gina Sunseri, ABC News Producer, to receive the prestigious 2024 Space Communicator Award.

Based in Houston, Gina has been a trusted fixture on the ABC News space beat for more than two decades. Her introduction to the space program began in 1996, when one of her earliest assignments was to cover astronaut Shannon Lucid - the only

American woman to live aboard the Mir space station. Since then, Gina has produced or contributed to hundreds of articles and broadcast news segments covering Space Shuttle launches, spacewalks, commercial space flight, the International Space Station, five Mars missions, and the much anticipated Artemis II mission scheduled to launch in 2025.

Mark Carreau, Aviation Week & Space Technology Houston Correspondent, and 2006 Space Communicator Award recipient, nominated Sunseri saying, "For over two decades, Gina Sunseri has set a high bar for outstanding coverage of our nation's space programs, educating millions of Americans through her thoughtful and expert productions for ABC News." Veronica McGregor, Digital News and Media Manager for NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory and 2013 Space Communicator Award recipient, says "Her deep understanding of the space program is evident in stories that often provide angles that other media miss. Her dedication to covering the space beat has benefitted the industry as well as ABC and millions of viewers."

Sunseri said of her award, "Being in the same company as previous honorees is truly humbling. I have always tried to make the space program engaging for our viewers—and to share the curiosity, hard work, creativity, and passion of the people who fulfill our desire to explore. I am fascinated by the small stories-- the cat videos from space. The lost tomato. The astronaut who had spicy shrimp cocktail for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day of his mission. And of course, Suni Williams' cutting her ponytail in space for charity."

Following the tragic loss of the Space Shuttle Columbia in 2003, Sunseri reported extensively on the seven astronauts lost aboard STS-107, as well as NASA's investigation of the disaster, and the safety measures that were initiated prior to the 2005 Return to Flight. She was an integral part of the ABC News team that went on to earn an Emmy Award for their investigation and report titled "Columbia Final Mission" which aired on "Primetime Thursday".

George W.S. Abbey James F. Albaugh Edward C. Aldridge Charles F. Bolden Dan Brandenstein Robert D. Cabana Jeffrey E. Carr Mark E. Carreau Kevin P. Chilton Michael L. Coats Eileen M. Collins Brad Cothran Richard O. Covey Robert Crippen Frank L. Culbertson Ronald D. Dittemore John W. Elbon G. Allen Flynt James M. Free Brian Freedman Donald Fugua William H. Gerstenmaier Gerald D. Griffin Michael D. Griffin John M. Grunsfeld W. Michael Hawes J. Milt Heflin Jorge Hernandez Tommy W. Holloway Neil B. Hutchinson Kay Bailey Hutchison Sandra G. Johnson John C. Karas Janet L. Kavandi Joseph P. Kerwin Eugene F. Kranz Debbie Kropp Robert M. Lightfoot Randolph Lillard Sandra H. Magnus Todd A. May Vernon McDonald Robert E. Meyerson John P. Mulholland George C. Nield Miles O'Brien William W. Parsons Thomas B. Pickens William F. Readdy Kenneth S. Reightler Harrison H. Schmitt Brewster H. Shaw Gwynne Shotwell Mark N. Sirangelo William A. Staples Charles M. Stegemoeller Richard D. Stephens Michael Suffredini Edward M. Swallow David W. Thompson Richard H. Truly William Vantine George Whitesides Vanessa E. Wyche

Board of Advisors



When she's not chasing the next story or interviewing a new source, Gina enjoys travel, weather, music, and gardening. She is happily married to John Treadgold, a retired KPRC photographer, and is mom to two children.

The RNASA Space Communicator Award was created in 1997 in honor of KTRK, Houston Channel 13 space reporter and long-time RNASA Advisor Stephen Gauvain who was tragically killed in a car accident in 1996. The award is presented to an individual or team that makes exceptional contributions to public understanding and appreciation of space exploration. The previous recipients of the award are: William Harwood of CBS; Miles O'Brien, formerly of CNN; Elliot Pulham of the Space Foundation; the NASA-Contractor Communications team that responded to the Columbia accident; Mark Carreau, formerly of the Houston Chronicle; Neil deGrasse Tyson of the Hayden Planetarium at the American Museum of Natural History; Veronica McGregor, Manager of News and Social Media at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory; Chris A. Hadfield. former Canadian Space Agency astronaut; Bill Nye (the science guy), CEO of the Planetary Society; Rob Navias, Public Affairs Officer (PAO) Mission commentator; William Shatner, actor, author, producer and director; and Bill Ingalls, senior NASA photographer.

Sunseri will be honored with the 2024 Space Communicator Award at RNASA's Space Awards Gala on April 26, 2024, at the Houston Hyatt Regency. Dr. Christopher Scolese, Director of the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO), will receive the 2024 National Space Trophy. Please visit rnasa.org to reserve your table, purchase tickets, or inquire about sponsorship opportunities. If you would like to reserve a room for the evening, please contact the Hyatt at 713-654-1234 and inquire about the RNASA group rate.