2018 NST Recipient, Mr. Robert Lightfoot
2018 NST winner
Mr. Robert Lightfoot
(NASA Photo)
The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation was founded by the Space Center Rotary Club of Houston, Texas in 1985 to organize and coordinate an anndual event to recognize outstanding achievements in space and create greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration. Each year since 1987, the Foundation has presented the National Space Trophy and other awards honoring those who have contributed to our nation's space program at a gala event in April in Houston, Texas.

NASA Acting Administrator Robert Lightfoot will receive the National Space Trophy (NST) on April 27, 2018 at the Houston Hyatt Regency.

Please see the Tables & Tickets page for attendance and sponsorship opportunities. The deadline for reserving tables is Friday, March 23.



RNASA National Space Trophy
National Space Trophy
The National Space Trophy is presented annually to an outstanding American who has made major contributions to our nation's space program. Nominations are voted upon by the RNASA Foundation's Board of Advisors that includes a who's who list of individuals intimately involved with the space program, including NASA center directors; presidents of aerospace corporations; military, news media, academic, and political leaders; and previous Trophy winners. In addition to the National Space Trophy, the recipient is honored with a professional portrait (displayed afterwards at Space Center Houston) and an Omega watch.


Communicator and Stellar Awards

Stellar Awards Trophies
Stellar Awards Trophies
In addition to the National Space Trophy, nominations for a Space Communicator Award and for Stellar Awards are also solicited each year. The Space Communicator Award is presented when accomplishments warrant to a professional communicator who has made an important contribution to the public's understanding of and appreciation for the American space program. Stellar Awards are given annually in four categories to recognize heroes of the American space program as teams and as individuals at all stages of their careers. The winners are selected based on which accomplishments hold the greatest promise for furthering future activities in space.



RNASA is supported by sales of banquet Tables and congratulatory advertisements in the souvenir Program Book. Proceeds remaining after each year's event are donated to an organization involved in aerospace education. RNASA is grateful for the participation of NASA, the Department of Defense, academic organizations, and the generous support it has received from corporate Sponsors. This support assures the continued recognition of outstanding achievements by United States' citizens in the area of space exploration.

Share with:

Return to the top